The Experimental Baker HomeMaker

That little corner where God resides….

Update, Jan 2016: This post of mine has been my most popular one in 2015. I thank the readers profusely for all the love and appreciation. Many have been kind enough to share pictures of their mandirs which were inspired from what they saw here. Please visit Reader’s Gallery to view them. If you have pics that you’d like to share, please post them to me at thebakerhomemaker@gmail.com

For most people from India, the home’s pooja mandir  (altar) is a very pious corner of the house.  It could be a corner in the kitchen counter, a single shelf in a bookcase or a special piece of furniture we call pooja mandir, where we house our favorite idols. Most of these idols are passed on from one generation to the next, revered and respected by each one of them. Idol worshipping goes back a long way in the Indian culture. I would think most of the world finds this concept alien and maybe doesn’t even agree with it, but for us it is holy corner of the house which pulls together all the positive auras of the house .

A pooja mandir is a place to gather, to bow, to worship, to pray, to hope, to dream, to focus, to meditate, to chant, to learn, to teach, to thank.  Every god/goddess is not merely a statue, but a virtue the devotee aspires to imbibe.  At the heart of this mandir is the diya (lamp) that symbolizes the happiness in the home – the triumph of good over evil , the light to conquer all darkness in the hearts and outside.

DSC_0166

In India, most homes typically have a tiny room dedicated to house the gods.

People living in apartments/smaller homes buy a small piece of furniture( that looks like a decked up wardrobe) . This piece of furniture called the pooja mandir is available in all different sizes and designs. It mostly mimics an actual temple with a garbha gruha ( inner sanctum) where the primary idol is housed and a pyramidal roof that extends several stories high.

I live in the USA and finding a mandir here is possible, but a very expensive affair (about $500 to $1000) and so is buying the product in India and shipping it. For years, I used a few shelves on a bookcase as my mandir. My home needed a better one. Space wise I didn’t have much room. I had to work with a corner in the kitchen, which needed to double up as storage, had to ensure that the diya and incense sticks were at a height my toddler couldn’t reach. I like DIYs, but  not the intense kind. Mine mostly are the decorative DIYs with simple tweaks to store bought stuff to suit my needs.

The budget I had for this was about a $200 including the storage cabinet. I spent about $150 and was glad to be under budget. For the expenses split, scroll across to the end of the post.

IKEA has rescued me several times and it didn’t fail to this time either. During one of my several visits to the store, I found a specific book case which fit my requirements. The good part about this bookcase was it covered both my needs –  lower closed shelf for storage and an upper open display shelf for my mandir. I took off one of the adjustable shelves since I needed one of my shelves to be high enough to hold the bigger idols. This formed the basic mandir structure that I needed.

Image from IKEA wesite

Image from IKEA wesite

Now,  the next step was to indian-ise it.

I used a fabric pen to draw these handmade murals (rangolis/kolams) on the inside of the bookcase. A fabric pen,  you ask? Yes, I experimented with several markers and even a paint brush. What I discovered was that the fabric marker was opaque enough to show the drawing well with one coat. It was wipeable when wet and  once dry, sturdy enough that it wouldn’t come off with a gentle wet wipe, but would if I used a plastic scrub. This gave me the freedom to correct mistakes as I went along.

(The kolam/rangoli is traditionally used to adorn the entrance of a house. The beauty of symmetry is best portrayed by the kolams. If you look closely, the basic design is extremely simple and repetitive. For more information on how to draw these beautiful kolams go here.)

While you create this backdrop, also picture roughly where you want your primary idols to be placed.  Create focal points as necessary.

It was shaping up great, except for the roof. It looked too flat for my liking. Guess what I used to create the  “shikara“/tower? I bought a tapering floating shelf and inverted it and used double sided tape to attach it to the top of the shelf.

To mimic the toppers that you see in traditional temples, I decorated the top with some wooden beads I found in Micheals. In the pictures below, you can see how they were put togther to give it the classic shape. To keep the beads from falling off I used the eye pins that I got from Micheals to try some jewelry making project ( I lietrally worked with whatever tools I had at home )

A few accessories like lighting, bells and fancy knobs and you’re done. I went with battery operated LED lights that I found in Lowes because I simply dint want to drill any holes/hide wires.

I was lucky to find the floating shelf and the beads in the same shade as my shelf. I prefer to buy furniture in common colors like brown/while so that I can co-ordinate accessories easily, though you can always paint/polish to get the shade you desire.

Supplies I used:

 Until next time. Happy Making!

Update, Mar 2016: Looks like Borgsjo book shelf is no longer available in IKEA. An alternate shelf, Brusali High cabinet, also available in IKEA looks equally good. Pls. see Padma Priya’s work in Reader’s gallery to see her beautiful work with this cabinet.

155 comments on “That little corner where God resides….

  1. Anu
    March 2, 2016

    Hi – I love this post. I would love to make it at home as DIY project. I am not able to find the cabinet in IKEA website through the link. Is there any alternative similar cabinet that can buy anywhere else?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. divya
    March 2, 2016

    Hello It was of great help in doing this project. I am planning to put doors on the above section as well. Since, I have kept my puja mantap in a living room / dinning room. And my home is an open concept. So, a door would help to create some privacy for the God mantap. Can you please tell me an idea for this, since this bookcase is no more available at ikea? I have been thinking of taking the measurements and then build doors from home depot or loews. What do you say?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yup, that does sound like a good idea esp if you’d like glass doors. Another thing I can think of is to use a roll down screen in bamboo or the like. It’ll add an ethnic look to the shelf. You can may be draw some rangolis or sketch a traditional drawing on it.
      Hope you work something out. Would love to see/feature your project (with your permission). Do send the pics to me.

      Like

  3. Karnika
    March 2, 2016

    This is awesome, thanks for sharing the details. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jayanthi
    March 17, 2016

    absolutely loved the rangoli idea..kudos for the effort.. i have question though did you use any stencil to draw the rangoli..its so clean

    Like

    • Thanks Jayanthi. I actually poked equidistant holes in a newspaper, placed the sheet against the backdrop and drew the dots. Actually, depending on your rangoli design, once you mark the center, its pretty easy to map the rest. Just start building your design
      from the center. Hope that helps!

      Like

  5. Richa
    April 29, 2016

    Hi, Love this idea. So beautiful and elegant. Can you please tell me how did you hang the picture in the center of the top section. Also what was used to hang the bells. eye hooks?

    Like

  6. Sunitha
    May 6, 2016

    Hi,

    I’m trying this with a smaller cabinet. Excellent idea. Can you please let me know where to buy the bells in India since I’m planning to get it from there.

    Like

  7. G
    May 9, 2016

    Thank you So much for posting this. I had been looking for a temple cabinet and this is perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lm
    May 16, 2016

    Hi what a wonderful idea. Being wood is it still ok to burn lamps and incense sticks?

    Like

  9. Mishka
    May 31, 2016

    I have been reading this blog over a year and loved loved loved the idea. Now its time for us to start on it. BTW, my husband wow..ed
    Question though, how did you bring IKEA cabinet home? I calculated the shipping cost as I do not have IKEA near. First one is 50 miles.It will be 300$ If I give meager tip to drive. It sad for 1 piece of furniture But I really want to do it. Any suggestions

    Like

  10. Madhavi
    June 12, 2016

    Amazing idea. I have been looking through internet for simple and traditional set for Puja mandir. Your design is awesome. Thanks for the idea.

    Like

  11. Ronit Lal
    June 29, 2016

    Namaskaram. Really nice. I actually bought this exact IKEA bookshelf on March because my old pooja place from 2010 had cheap wood and broke. I have a lot of murtis from my last bookshelf, should i put them on the bottom portion of the cupboard?

    Like

  12. Ronit Lal
    July 8, 2016

    here’s a tip, put foil paper on shelves and under every murthi, put a plate that will be big enough that the murti will have a 1 finger distance from the front corner of plate, and small enough that the plate won’t take up to much space. that way, when you offer flowers or put kumkum and it falls, it will fall on the little plates and you can just pick up the murti and take the flowers and etc. without staining anything and easily slipping everything off.

    Like

  13. Natarajan
    August 2, 2016

    The problem with the ikea shelves is that they come with a thin cardboard like back . If I need to hang some pictures using pins or nails,I dont think the back can support the weight. I noticed in your image that you have indeed hung or stuck an image of the great Lord Balaji there. How did you manage that ? Like you have updated Borgjso is not available at Ikea anymore :(. Brusali is a good alternative.

    Like

    • my picture wasnt very heavy. I have used double sided tapes and it is holding well so far. You might have to reconsider that if you are planning to add heavier items or too many items on the back, because as you said its just cardboard and cant support anything too heavy.

      Like

  14. ronit lal
    August 8, 2016

    did the lights come with the bookshelf

    Like

  15. ronit lal
    August 8, 2016

    i have three big pictures-8×10 with frame-of krishna, murugan, laxmi ganesh saraswati. plus 4 extra photos from when we lived in a basement.
    the big pictures with frames take up so much room, what can i do with the extra ones, please help

    Like

    • ronit lal
      August 8, 2016

      even though we live in a house now, i still only have a little bit room(the wall) because that’s also my room

      Like

  16. Subhavivek
    August 30, 2016

    Just awesome. I was hunting for puja mandap in Google. When I came across your article. It is like a treasure found. Thank you. Will sure give it a try

    Liked by 1 person

  17. siri
    September 10, 2016

    Can you please tell me what was used to hang the bells?

    Like

  18. Preeti Kumta
    September 14, 2016

    Hi,

    This is wonderful and perfect, thank you so much. I am going to do this and have already found a good enough cabinet on IKEA website. http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/40302289/#/40302289
    http://www.wayfair.com/South-Shore-Vito-3-Shelf-Bookcase-with-Doors-103-TH4349.html
    I am going to choose one of the above.

    I loved the rangoli design,but I have absolutely no clue as to how I can do the same. Can you please share some videos or anything simple that I can practice on paper first. Because without the design, the mandir would not look as awesome. Another Idea I was thinking might be good kundan rangoli stickers.

    will let you know how it goes. But kindly do share some tips about the rangoli design.

    Regards
    Preeti

    Like

    • Thanks Preeti. Both the cabinets seem like great options. Sorry, I havent found the time to do a write up about the rangoli. I’ll try to put up one soon. To give you an idea, i just punched equidistant holes in a newspaper and used that as a stencil to mark the dots. After that, i’ve drawn freehand rangoli.

      Like

  19. Alssharma
    October 6, 2016

    Hi, what size beads did you use for toppers?

    Like

  20. gaureemohan
    October 11, 2016

    Really Nice idea!! I would like to try this 🙂

    Like

  21. serenitydivya
    October 12, 2016

    This bookcase is no longer available in IKEA anymore! 😦 . Any suggestions for an alternative? Also, I am curious to know the idea of implementing a cabinet door for this? Please feel free to pour in any suggestions?

    Like

    • See the update at the end of this post. Someone used another cabinet from IKEA. Most IKEA cabinets come with an option to attach a glass door/draw for storage. Also, browse through the user comments above, you’ll find more ideas.

      Like

  22. Raynukaa
    October 24, 2016

    Hi ya, this is a brilliant idea for pooja mandir. Just wanted to check where in India did u buy the hanging bells???? Is it available online???

    Like

  23. Latha
    November 10, 2016

    Hi I came across your post when I was searching for DIY Puja mandir. I like your creativity turning a book shelf into beautiful puja mandir with reasonable cost. It’s looking awesome and we are thinking of doing the same. Thank you for posting such a beautiful creation.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Chitra
    November 24, 2016

    Thank you so much for this brilliant idea! I live in Singapore, where traditional pooja shelves and cupboards cost an arm and a leg. My husband and I just moved into our first home and we did not want (or more accurately, did not have) that much money to be spent on an altar. I went trawling online for DIY ideas and I’m SO grateful to have come upon your post! We had a blast creating a customised altar for our Gods. Took us about a week to put it all together and we could not be happier. Thank you very much for being so generous with your ideas and tips!

    Like

    • Thank you so much for writing in. You cant imagine how glad it makes me that you could use the ideas and tips for your mandir. It is precisely why I worked on writing a detailed blog. I would to see your pictures and host them on my site. Do send them to me @ thebakerhomemaker@gmail.com. Also, Hearty Congratulations on your new home!

      Like

  25. Anantha Harihara
    November 24, 2016

    Nice idea! How did you stick the lights?

    Like

  26. Sid
    January 12, 2017

    Hi – Your blog has inspired us to make a similar mandir. One quick question – Where did you buy the idols like Ram, Sita, Lakshman & Krishna ? Was that something you got from India?

    Like

  27. Suki
    March 13, 2017

    Beautiful work 🙂 I loved the bamboo blind idea that you had suggested for cabinet without door, but can you install it on a cabinet? I am checking before I start working on this. Thank you 🙂

    Like

  28. Nitya Narayan
    April 20, 2017

    Awesome work on this DIY mandir. I loved this idea so much that I finally bought the shelf from IKEA couple of weeks back and am very excited to start this project. Had a couple of questions, if you could help clarify.
    1. Did you draw the kolam patterns after or before the shelf was assembled?
    2. Could you provide me some more information (brand/type/point) of the fabric pen you used for the kolams and the glue you used to stick the beads? I tried searching online/stores but got overwhelmed with the n number of options out there.
    Thanks so much in advance!

    Like

    • Hi Nitya,
      Thanks! Regarding the kolam patterns, i drew them with a fabric pen I found at a local craft store. I don’t rem the brand. Let me look it up and add it in the blog post itself as it will be useful to a lot of readers. Also, the glue i used was a regular craft glue, you could use permanent clear glue with a fine tip for this project.

      Like

  29. Mounika
    May 12, 2017

    Thank you so much for the wonderful post. I really loved the idea and very excited to start the project. Thanks a ton..

    Like

  30. Srividya
    June 7, 2017

    Hi! Can you please share how you installed the LED Lamp inside the mandap?

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 3, 2014 by in Home Decor and tagged , , , , .
Follow The Experimental Baker HomeMaker on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 205,282 hits
