The Experimental Baker HomeMaker

An expression thats LOVE

I love it when Phil says “That’s the funny thing about marriage, you fall in love with this extraordinary person and over time they begin to seem ordinary…..I think it’s all the nagging.” This quote from the TV series Modern Family is hilarious and yet so profound. Marriage does that to you. Things that you so desperately sought after before you started a life together, you start taking for granted because of how often and how easily you get them.

I think there’s hardly anyone who loves everything about their partner. There are more things that annoy you than the ones you appreciate or maybe it starts feeling that way because you tend to focus more on the negatives than the positives. If you think about it, most times love is nothing but acceptance of each other’s quirks. Over time you fall in love with the things that annoyed you terribly in the beginning. I cant begin to say how annoyed I get when my Mr. asks if I am carrying the phone with me every time I step out of the house or the gazillion calls he makes from the store when he goes out solo to shop for groceries. Even though I am always cribbing about these things, I’ve come to accept them and may be even enjoy them a tiny bit, so much so I’ll miss it if he stops doing them one fine day.

How important is it to express when in love? Thats a question I’ve asked myself several times. When you’re newly in love/newly wed there is usually a lot of avenues for expressing love for one another. A day dedicated to showing that you do love a person seems a little unnecessary. In the early years of my marriage, I always thought exchanging gifts on valentines day to be uncool. I’ve been one of those people who call valentines day a commercial gimmick, revolving around spending money on one another. As my marriage has aged and other things in life have taken priority, I have a slightly different approach now. Though I am still against gift buying on this day, I do believe that its good to have a dedicated day show your care towards a loved one, cos lets face it, LIFE happens and unless this is marked as an activity in your calender, it is less likely to get done. When you have a lot on your mind, it becomes all the more important to consciously take the time to appreciate one another and thank each other for being there. It doesn’t have to be anything fancy – may be just a couples bike ride, a hike, recording a song together – something you both love and enjoy doing together.

So yes, do stop and smell the roses.

Here’s to NOT taking LOVE FOR GRANTED!

Here’s to LOVE and finding the time to say “I DO LOVE YOU”!

Happy Valentine’s Day, Folks!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 13, 2016 by in Musings and tagged , .
Follow The Experimental Baker HomeMaker on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 186,815 hits
