The Experimental Baker HomeMaker

30 min pillow lounger

Every time I visit my little niece and nephew, I like to carry something handmade for them. I’ve made several things from little baby clothes, personalized pillow covers to aprons. Inspired by a few designs on Pinterest, I made them what I call a “pillow lounger”. A pillow lounger is nothing but simply a bed made of pillows. Its such a fun, versatile little mat that kids (it can easily fit adults too) can plop on indoors or outdoors – be it a sleep over, a movie night at the grandparents’, a backyard stargazing night, camping night out or simply lounging on a hot summer afternoon.

dsc_0080

dsc_0039

My challenge was that I needed to make two easy to differentiate loungers in two varied colors. To make it cost effective, I picked out a twin duvet cover from IKEA which had fabric with two different but co-ordinating prints on each side  There you go, I had all the fabric I needed for just $15. Again, I can’t begin to tell you how much I lOOVE Ikea. It has come to my rescue more than once.

To begin, I separated out the two sides. This gave me two individual twin size sheets.

The actual making of the lounger is pretty straight forward.

First of all, close all unfinished seams to reduce fraying.

Fold the fabric lengthwise (wrong side out) to create a pillow casing (around 20″ in length). Leave about 5-6 inches on the side. This would later become the flap to keep the pillow from moving.

dsc_0010

Fold this flap the the other way around. Pin and stitch the two ends. This will end up looking like one enormous pillow case.dsc_0011

Turn it right side out. ( This time the flap would appear between the two sides of the pillow case. Pin the edges again. Mark out 5 equal sections ( each should be around 17-20″ wide). Sew them close.

dsc_0019

dsc_0022

dsc_0025

There you go, You’ve made an equivalent of 5 pillow cases sewn together. Now find every pillow in your house and stuff it in the case 🙂

dsc_0031

The kids had a gala time stuffing thee up with pillows and trying them out..Looks like they even took it to movie night at school.

ps: I notice that stores like Walmart also have some good and “not so expensive” twin sheets. Another plus with buying ready sheets is that you don’t even need to close any unfinished seams.

Also, there are some very good offers on pillows in stores like IKEA and Walmart with starting prices around $2 or so.

One comment on “30 min pillow lounger

  1. rumzy
    December 11, 2016

    The kids loved it. I also really liked it. I used it to take a nap on this while pretending to baby sit the kids :P. Good job shyams

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 10, 2016 by in Beginner Sewing, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , .

Navigation

Follow The Experimental Baker HomeMaker on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 205,282 hits
